The title can be a little unclear. But what I am basically saying is say we add a reactant to a reaction to push the reaction forward toward the product side, that reactant which was increased in amount/ concentration will surely less. Part of it used to produce more products to gain new equilibrium. But will it always be more than the original amount in the equilibrium before?

Without knowing much of advanced math, I just experimented with some simple fractions; thus far I haven't seen anything that violate this rule.

  • $\begingroup$ Are you considering Le Chatelier's principle ? And do you mean "increased in amount/concentration will surely become less" ? $\endgroup$ – Del Pate Mar 4 '15 at 22:35
  • $\begingroup$ Yes la chatier. What I meant was the component of a reaction that is being increased in amount to push the reaction in either one of the two directions. $\endgroup$ – most venerable sir Mar 4 '15 at 23:06
  • $\begingroup$ Is the amount of component always gonna to be more at the new equilibrium than was originally. $\endgroup$ – most venerable sir Mar 4 '15 at 23:07
  • $\begingroup$ Okay , got it now . Its a very good question and the answer is Not Always . I am giving you a hint to think about : "What happens if there are only a solid and a gas in the reactant side ? Write down the eqn and calc Eq. Const expression for each case " . If you get it from here well and good . If not , I will answer the question . $\endgroup$ – Del Pate Mar 6 '15 at 16:28
  • $\begingroup$ Did you get it then? $\endgroup$ – Del Pate Mar 29 '15 at 17:01

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.