0
$\begingroup$

I read in my book that if the least sum rule is same for both double bond and triple bond then we give double bond priority. According to that the 2nd name should be the correct one where lowest locant is assigned to the double bond , but book says 1st name is correct.

Is there any exception to this rule ?

$\endgroup$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.